The International Cricket World Cup History | Cricket World Cup Winners.

• First Held in 1975

• Current Champions: England

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the most-watched carrying occasions in the world and is the most coveted prize in worldwide one-day cricket. Featuring teams from all around the world, the World Cup sees the world’s best cricket nations combat it out to be declared world champions.

History of Cricket World Cup

The first world cup turned into held in 1975 simply 4 years after the primary sooner or later worldwide turned into performed. Before 1970, cricket have been performed nearly completely withinside the longer form of the game with 5-day test matches being the norm for worldwide cricket. While there have been a few voices calling for a shorter model of the sport to be formally recognized, It turned into handiest while Australian media tycoon Kerry Packer commenced a rival opposition with video games that went for simply sooner or later that the ICC commenced paying attention. A shorter model sport turned directly added and the rival league turned into finally given legit status.

The first 3 global cups have been held in England and have been called the Prudential Cups, named after the sponsors of the match. After the second occasion which turned into held in 1979, it turned into agreed that the match ought to take area every 4 years and that the web website hosting rights ought to rotate as they did for the Olympics. The first occasion held out of doors of England turned into in 1987 with India and Pakistan appearing as joint hosts.

The 1992 World cup turned held in Australia and noticed a few predominant modifications to the manner the sport turned into performed. For the primary time, fielding regulations have been added which means handiest a constrained quantity of gamers has been allowed out of doors a sure perimeter. This turned into added to inspire competitive play. It turned into additionally the primary time that day-night time fits have been performed. While those video games had an equal quantity of overs, they commenced with inside the afternoon which means the second one innings turned into performed below lighting fixtures at the night time time.

Cricket format

The ICC Cricket World Cup technically has wonderful stages. The qualification degree and the match itself. All take a look at gambling countries to get hold of computerized qualification into the match with the last spots going to the best-ranked groups from the ICC Cricket League. This is opposition for partner individuals of the ICC who’ve now no longer but accomplished take a look at in shape status.

The layout of the match itself has modified substantially over the years. Initially, the opposition turned into confined to simply 8 countries which competed in companies of 4 earlier than the pinnacle from every institution improved to the semi-finals. As the number of cricketing countries grew, however, it has become clear that a brand new layout turned into going to be had to accommodate greater competitors.

Since 1975 many codecs were trialed which include handiest having one institution wherein everybody performs everybody as soon as and having swimming pools wherein the pinnacle groups from every pool develop to a very last ‘supergroup’. In the supergroup, groups saved the factors they received in opposition to the opposite groups who improved from their pool after which play each crew that they’d now no longer but performed. The pinnacle 4 from the supergroup might then develop to the semi-finals.

In 2011 and 2015 the guidelines have been simplified with swimming pools of 7 gambling every different as soon as earlier than the pinnacle 4 groups from every institution improved to the sector finals. For the 2019 World Cup, it’s miles probably that the handiest 10 groups will compete in a single institution earlier than the pinnacle 4 development to the knockout degree. The proposed layout is supposed to make certain greater aggressive fits however it has acquired a grievance from a few ICC individuals for except smaller, growing cricketing countries.

Cricket World Cup Winners.

Australia is the maximum fulfillment u. s . a . which received five World Cups. India & West Indies are the handiest international locations that have received the arena cup 2 instances every.

India received the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, at the same time as West Indies received in 1975 and 1979. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the opposite international locations that have received the World Cup in 1992 and 1996 respectively. England is the handiest u. s . a . which misplaced three finals and hosted the arena cup five instances.

Only 4 groups have ever received the ICC Cricket World Cup. The West Indies received the primary competitions however haven’t been a hit since. Australia is the maximum hit country having received the match on 5 separate activities which include 3 in a row in 1999, 2003, and 2007. They also are the modern champions having received in 2015 on domestic soil. India has received two times at the same time as their move border competitors Pakistan have handiest received as soon as. England has made the very last 3 instances however have by no means been capable of seal the deal.

Notable information approximately the Cricket World Cup

The first global cup featured a crew from East Africa. This is the handiest time a composite crew, apart from the West Indies has competed withinside the World Cup. South Africa has been forbidden from competing in worldwide cricket till 1992 while the worldwide sports activities boycott turned into lifted. This supposed that the 1992 World cup turned into the primary match they have been allowed to compete in.

The first World Cup noticed groups competing in conventional cricket whites and the usage of a crimson ball. It wasn’t till 1992 that colored uniforms and the white ball have become usual for sooner or later cricket.

It turned into handiest in 1999 that the ICC World Cup trophy turned into standardized. Up till this point, groups had competed for a special trophy at each match.

The subsequent cricket global cup may be performed from October 17, 2021, to November 14, 2021.


How many cricket World Cups have there been?

An overall of twenty groups has competed withinside the 11 variants of the match, with ten groups competing withinside the latest 2019 match. Australia has received the match 5 instances, India and West Indies two times every, at the same time as Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have received it as soon as every.

When turned into the cricket World Cup commenced?

June 7, 1975

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.